

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE March 17, 2022

**CONTACTS:** Francesca Donlan 239-338-3500

## Lee County Tourist Development Council welcomes four new nonvoting members

**LEE COUNTY, Fla.** – Four new members have been added to fill new ex-officio, nonvoting seats on the Tourist Development Council (TDC).

The new members include:

- Council member **Jim Atterholt**, Town of Fort Myers Beach
- Council member Larry Fiesel, Village of Estero
- Council member **Mike Gibson**, City of Bonita Springs
- Councilwoman Gloria Tate, City of Cape Coral

The Lee Board of County Commissioners (BoCC) voted in January to add the four seats to allow each of the municipalities a seat on the TDC. These four additional members will represent the incorporated municipalities not currently serving on the TDC in one of the two municipal rotating seats. The rotation of voting-member seats will not be affected.

The nine voting seats are composed of three elected officials, three representatives from accommodations collecting the tourist tax and three representatives from tourism-related industries, as directed by Florida Statutes.

The TDC was established as an advisory board to the BoCC in 1983 to increase off-season tourism in Lee County.

For more information about the TDC, visit <u>leeveb.com</u> and <u>leegov.com/bocc</u>.







